Tuesday, 23 March 2010

Changeover Two Complete

Expedition 10A has now entered its final phase as second changeover is now complete.

Groups arrived at Borneo Paradise for a second time last Friday for two days of catching up with friends, learning about their new alpha groups, hot showers and sleeping in a real bed!!!  Luckily all the coaches arrived on time this time so alpha groups had a full two days before going out on phase again.

Checking the blog

The first night was dedicated to alpha group skits, showing what had happened during phase two. The prize was a delivery of pizza so competition was fierce. Alpha Six won first place, for a piece showing how an obsession with mock duck can take you to dangerous places. That evening Mac also announced the winners of the 'Come Dine with Me' competition. Alpha Five won first place for their evening meal and entertainment featuring a masked ball and kilted waiters.

Alpha Eight's Fashion Show skit

The judges give their scores

On Saturday, venturers got up early for a full expedition meeting and to hear where they would be heading next. It was a nervous wait as groups waited to hear which trek, community and environmental projects they would be heading to.

The nervous wait for allocations

Straight afterwards everyone from the expedition gathered for a full expedition photograph, before heading into group meetings.

That afternoon venturers took part in a fierce session of Raleigh Olympics where teams of seven swimmers were pitched against each other in a relay race. Each swimmer had to dash through two lengths of the pool before being changed out of their outfit (Raleigh t-shirt, swimming hat and goggles) by the other members of the team.

The winning team, the new Alpha One

Sadly on Saturday afternoon we also said goodbye to our seven-weekers: James Reif, James Davies, Zak Woodhouse, Luke Ewer, Anton Hawthorne, Christina Tucker, Hannah Sprake and Victoria Clutterbuck. We also said goodbye to two project managers who had to leave expedition due to prior commitments. We wish Sav Wijensingha and Sam de La Haye bon voyage and good luck! We are sad to see you go and will miss you.

The next morning all of the groups deployed to their new project sites. Let's meet the new Alphas.

Alpha One is off to complete the kindergarten in Sulit Paitan, with PM’s Ali T and Laura Pickering are:
Alwine I de Vos van Steenwijk
Carynn J Tanduba
Craig Hart
Emily Mutton
Isabel E Mattick
James Eyles
Mark Skelton
Ryan C Aylwin
Sebastian Winn
Tiffany Harvey
William H Mitchell

On their way to Alpha Two in Kopuron to finish the filtered gravity water feed system, with PMs Serge Neumand and Emily Carter are:
Ah Ching Wong
Alice Hobhouse
Ashley Vickers
Benjamin J Teuten
Felicity-Rae James
Josh J Stevenson-Brown
Kimberley Balsdon
Kyra v Hil
Mark Cavanagh
Paul Henry
Rosalind Helson
Timothy J Mottram

Finishing the gravity water feed system in Vunui Lokos is Alpha Three. David Lau and Rachel Gower are accompanied by:
Briony J McPherson
Eunice Lum
Francesca Sandwell
Frederik A Vincentz
Hayley J Burnell
Paul S Choat
Solomon Akhtar
Sophie Pahud de Mortanges
Stephen D Myers
Theodore C Gibson
Tom F Plant
Aydan Al-Saad, one of the logs team, is also accompanying the team for half of the phase.

Now to the environmental projects. Off to the Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre in Sepilok with Sarah Pink and Donna Scanlan is Alpha Four:
Aidan Nairn
Alexander van leeuwen
Becki Ingram
Benjamin G Cowley
Christopher J Tuson
David Sparks
Elizabeth J Chapman
Gilbert Sukim
James P Wood
Jenny Veness
Matt Underhill
Morna Spence
Nisha Kaushal

Alpha Five is off to Imbak Canyon to carry on with infrastructure development. With PMs Oonagh Hayes, Eddie Boyle and Ali D are:
Aernout van der Goes
Alexander E Godwin
Ashleigh Davies
Greg O Jones
Harry R Tabor
Louise O'Neill
Lucie G Perris
Martin Brien
Michael J Day
Patrick Laidlaw
Roster Lexon Solaiman
Sarah Parumal

Completing the long house in Kudat with PMs Eleni Coldrey and Kate Hallam is Alpha Six made up of:
Adam J White
Angelina Tan
Danielle A Gaywood
Darren A Pugh
Eleanor Chapman
Joost Pompe
Joseph Mathers
Kirsty Simms
Laura Crockwell
Liam Sumner
Polly Cocker
Scott Monaghan

Now the trekkers, completing their PADI qualifications then trekking, is Alpha Seven. With PM Ed Laschet and medic Cat Bush are:
Alexandra Bevir
Edward Sants
Harry R Griffiths
Heng Tseng Wen
Joel Davie
Joseph Francis
Katharine R Ridgway
Laura Pittaway
Michael J Mason
Natasha Fournel
Vineeta Tan

Alpha Eight are trekking from Long Pasia, then finishing their phase on dive island, With PM James McGovern and medic Nat Iliffe are:
Aisha Begum
Andrew Fraser
Brett Anderson
Darren Lee Tan
Helen F Ray-Jones
Jawad Al-Hairi
Josephine K Ayre
Mark A Wardman
Petronella John
Rachel L Magnus
Simon Skelly
Thijs J Veltman

And last, but not least, are Alpha Nine, who are trekking through Kiulu then diving at Mamutik before finishing with a trek through the Crocker mountain range. With PM Ali Parry and medic Eleri Evans are:
Adam Shahrum Zainal Abidin
Andrew W Hattersley
Bas Pothof
Carys Duckworth
Charlotte J Green
Conor J Gracey
Edward Lewis
Henry (Harry) C Dewe-Mathews
Nigel Dakin
Rachel A Sutton
Rosalind J Davies
Sophie Grant

So here it is the last phase.

The loop leaves on Friday, so keep those messages coming so we can get them out to the groups.